Biomathematics Research Centre Members

Members

Professor Mike Steel

Professor Mike Steel (Director)

Director for Biomathematics Research Centre
Mike.Steel@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 623 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7688

Research Interests

Discrete and stochastic models, bioinformatics, theoretical biology and evolutionary genetics. [ AWCMEE ]

Associate Professor Jennifer Brown

Professor Jennifer Brown (Associate Director)

Jennifer.Brown@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 622 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7684

Research Interests

Ecological statistics, environmental monitoring, animal population assessment, sampling theory, experimental design. [ NZIMA ]

Professor Tim David

Professor Tim David

Tim.David@canterbury.ac.nz
NZi3 Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 43210

Research Interests

Mathematical and numerical models of physiological systems, neurovascular coupling, emergent behaviour from coupled cellular systems. Detailed research interests and publications are available here. [ Centre for Bioengineering ]

Dr Paul Gardner

Dr Paul Gardner

ppgardner@gmail.com
von Haast Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext ...

Research Interests

Bionformatics approaches to functionally characterise ncRNAs, RNA structure prediction, comparative sequence analysis, genome annotation.

Dr Sharyn Goldstien

Dr Sharyn Goldstien

Sharyn.Goldstien@canterbury.ac.nz
499 von Haast Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 45646

Research Interests

Multi-disciplinary approach to marine ecology and evolution including: bioinvasions, dispersal and population connectivity, evolutionary determinants of ecological interactions, ecosystem processes and conservation.

Professor Jack Heinemann

Professor Jack Heinemann

Jack.Heinemann@canterbury.ac.nz
226 von Haast building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 2926

Research Interests

Genetics and molecular biology of prokaryotic and eukaryotic microorganisms; horizontal gene transfer, particularly conjugation; effects of stress, particularly induced by antibiotics; evolution and risk assessment; influence of language on science, eugenics. [ INBI ]

Assoc. Professor Alex James

Assoc. Professor Alex James

Alex.James@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 624 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8877

Research Interests

Modelling of problems in combustion and ecology including larval fish growth and the role of environmental stochasticity. [ NZIMA ]

Assoc. Professor Michael Plank

Assoc. Professor Michael Plank

Michael.Plank@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 614 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2699

Research Interests

Mathematical biology. Modelling problems in biology, ecology and engineering, including cardiovascular disease and kidney function.

Assoc. Professor Anthony M. Poole

Assoc. Professor Anthony M. Poole

Anthony.Poole@canterbury.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 3863

Research Interests

Early evolution, eukaryote origins, RNA, horizontal gene transfer, evolutionary genetics.

Associate Professor Charles Semple

Professor Charles Semple

Charles.Semple@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 621 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8349

Research Interests

Combinatorics, computational complexity, and computational biology with particular interests in phylogenetics and matroid theory. [ AWCMEE ]

Assoc. Professor Daniel B. Stouffer

Assoc. Professor Daniel B. Stouffer

Daniel.Stouffer@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 470, von Haast building
Phone: +64 3 364 6729

Research Interests

Complex systems and complexity in ecology with particular interest in ecological networks, socio-economic networks, and human dynamic behaviour.

Professor David Wall

Professor David Wall

David.Wall@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 400, Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2696

Research Interests

Mathematical wave theory. Inverse problems. Mathematical biology. Computational mathematics. Applied dynamical systems. [ Centre for Bioengineering ]

Post-Graduate Students

Paul Cordue

Paul Cordue

paul.cordue@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Room 524, Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7971
Supervisors: Prof. Charles Semple and Prof. Mike Steel

Michael Hackney

Michael Hackney

michael.hackney@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Room 522, Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8407
Supervisors: Assoc. Prof. Michael Plank.

Sarah Mark

Sarah Mark

Jack Simpson

Jack Simpson

Tech Support

Dietrich Radel

Dietrich Radel

Dietrich.Radel@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 620 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8876

  • Biomathematics Research Centre
    University of Canterbury
    Private Bag 4800, Christchurch
    New Zealand
  • Prof. Mike Steel
    Phone +64 3 364 2987 ext 7688
    Fax: +64 3 364 2587
    Mike.Steel@canterbury.ac.nz
  • Contacts Page
  • Follow us
    FacebookYoutubetwitterLinked In