School Staff

Head of School

Professor Jennifer Brown

Professor Jennifer Brown

Jennifer.Brown@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 400 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6696

Research Interests

Ecological statistics, environmental monitoring, animal population assessment, sampling theory, experimental design.

Administration Staff

Pauline Auger

Administration Assistant
Pauline.Auger@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 402 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6600

Penelope Goode

School Administrator
Head of School P.A.

Penelope.Goode@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 401 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 4846

Helen Rowley

Administration Assistant
Helen.Rowley@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 403 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7698

Academic Staff

Liz Ackerley

Liz Ackerley

STAR Course Co–ordinator
Senior Academic Tutor

Liz.Ackerley@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 422 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6690

Associate Professor Rick Beatson

Associate Professor Rick Beatson

Rick.Beatson@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 602 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6675

Research Interests

Mathematics, statistics and fast algorithms for fitting spatial data. Radial basis functions. Visualisation. Applications to laser scanner and geophysical data. Neural networks, Kriging and Cross Validation.

Professor Douglas Bridges

Professor Douglas Bridges

Professor of Pure Mathematics
Douglas.Bridges@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 704 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7427

Research Interests

Constructive foundations of analysis, topology, algebra, and physics. Computability and complexity. Mathematical economics.

Professor Jennifer Brown

Professor Jennifer Brown

Head of School
Jennifer.Brown@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 400 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6696

Research Interests

Ecological statistics, environmental monitoring, animal population assessment, sampling theory, experimental design.

Dr Brendan Creutz

Dr Brendan Creutz

Lecturer
Brendan.Creutz@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 502 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7663

Research Interests

Number theory and algebraic geometry.

Irene David

Irene David

Director of Teaching — Tutors
Senior Academic Tutor

Irene.David@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 420 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8369

Dr Hannes Diener

Dr Hannes Diener

Lecturer
Hannes.Diener@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 622 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2600 ext 7684

Dr John Hannah

Dr John Hannah

Senior Lecturer
John.Hannah@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 712 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7685

Research Interests

Abstract and linear algebra. Mathematics education. History of mathematics.

Jenny Harlow

Jenny Harlow

Senior Academic Tutor
Jenny.Harlow@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 421 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 3403

Dr Mark Hickman

Dr Mark Hickman

Senior Lecturer
Mark.Hickman@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 613 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7693

Research Interests

Symmetries of differential equations. Invariance under groups. Algebraic computing. Dynamical systems.

Associate Professor Alex James

Associate Professor Alex James

Alex.James@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 624 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8877

Research Interests

Modelling of problems in combustion and ecology including larval fish growth and the role of environmental stochasticity.

Dr Ngin-Tee Koh

Dr Ngin-Tee Koh

Lecturer
Ngin-Tee.Koh@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 501 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7678

Research Interests

Complex Function Theory.

Dr Dominic Lee

Dr Dominic Lee

Senior Lecturer
Dominic.Lee@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 612 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7665

Research Interests

Computational, Bayesian and nonparametric statistics, with applications in medical research, bioinformatics, signal processing and image processing.

Dr Maarten McKubre-Jordens

Dr Maarten McKubre-Jordens

Lecturer

Maarten.Jordens@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 703 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8878

Research Interests

Analysis: non-classical analysis, functional analysis. Topology: notions of compactness, connectedness. Foundations and philosophy of mathematics. Interaction of mathematics with philosophy, economics, physics, and other disciplines.

Jeanette McLeod

Dr Jeanette McLeod

Lecturer
Jeanette.McLeod@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 610 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7692

Research Interests

Combinatorics; in particular asymptotic enumeration, Latin squares, graph colouring and random graphs.

Elena Moltchanova

Dr Elena Moltchanova

Senior Lecturer
Statistics Consultant

Elena.Moltchanova@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 600 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6686

Consulting: Tuesdays and Thursdays by appointment.

Research Interests

Applied Bayesian spatio-temporal modelling, epidemiology, modelling of extreme events.

Clemency Montelle

Dr Clemency Montelle

Senior Lecturer
Clemency.Montelle@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 711 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6267

Research Interests

History and Philosophy of Mathematics. The preparation, translation, and commentary of ancient mathematical texts in Greek, Latin, Sanskrit, Arabic and Akkadian. Ancient Mathematical Astronomy and Modelling.

Dr Miguel Moyers-Gonzalez

Dr Miguel Moyers-Gonzalez

Senior Lecturer
Miguel.MoyersGonzalez@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 700 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7666

Research Interests

Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics. Hydrodynamic stability of Complex fluids. Industrial mathematics. Hemodynamics (modeling and computation). Partial Differential Equations: numerical and theoretical approaches.

Dr Rua Murray

Dr Rua Murray

Senior Lecturer
Rua.Murray@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 604 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8376

Research Interests

Dynamical systems; ergodic theory; numerical effects in dynamics; approximation theory.

Dr Michael Plank

Dr Michael Plank

Director of Teaching — Mathematics
Senior Lecturer

Michael.Plank@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 614 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6699

Research Interests

Mathematical biology. Modelling problems in biology, ecology and engineering, including cardiovascular disease and kidney function.

Dr Chris Price

Dr Chris Price

Senior Lecturer
Chris.Price@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 601 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7682

Research Interests

Optimisation, Acoustics.

Associate Professor Marco Reale

Associate Professor Marco Reale

Marco.Reale@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 722 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7681

Research Interests

Interactions between graph theory and statistics, in particular time series analysis. Applications to econometrics, finance and bioinformatics.

Dr Patrick W. Saart

Lecturer
Patrick.WSaart@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 500 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8371

Research Interests

Econometric Theory, Time Series analysis, Nonparametric and Semiparametric inferences and Financial Mathematics.

Dr Raazesh Sainudiin

Dr Raazesh Sainudiin

Senior Lecturer
Raazesh.Sainudiin@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 724 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7691

Research Interests

Interval Analysis and Computable Mathematics; Computational Mathematics and Statistics; Mathematical and Statistical Genetics; Theoretical and Applied Machine Learning.

Dr Carl Scarrott

Dr Carl Scarrott

Director of Teaching — Statistics
Senior Lecturer

Carl.Scarrott@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 721 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2600 ext 8338

Research Interests

Spatial statistics, extreme value methods and spectral analysis with application to problems in industry, ecology, environment and science.

Hilary Seddon

Hilary Seddon

Senior Academic Tutor
Hilary.Seddon@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 423 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8320

Professor Charles Semple

Professor Charles Semple

Charles.Semple@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 621 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8349

Research Interests

Combinatorics, algorithms, and mathematical biology, particularly phylogenetics and matroid theory.

Professor Mike Steel

Professor Mike Steel

Director for Biomathematics Research Centre
Mike.Steel@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 623 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7688

Research Interests

Discrete and stochastic models, bioinformatics, theoretical biology and evolutionary genetics.

Associate Professor Günter Steinke

Associate Professor Günter Steinke

Deputy Head of School
Gunter.Steinke@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 603 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7680

Research Interests

Geometry. Topology. Groups. Combinatorics.

Dr Richard Vale

Dr Richard Vale

Lecturer
Richard.Vale@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 612 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7665

Professor David Wall

Professor David Wall

David.Wall@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 701 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6689

Research Interests

Mathematical wave theory. Inverse problems. Mathematical biology. Computational mathematics. Applied dynamical systems.

Nuttanan (Nate) Wichitaksorn

Dr Nuttanan (Nate) Wichitaksorn

Lecturer
nuttanan.wichitaksorn@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 503 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7677

Research Interests

Bayesian econometrics, Markov chain Monte Carlo methods, financial time series models, limited dependent variable models, scale mixtures of normal, scale mixtures of uniform, copula modeling, skew distributions, and quantile regression.

Phillipa Williams

Phillipa Williams

Senior Academic Tutor
Phillipa.Williams@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 424 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8341

Dr Phil Wilson

Dr Phil Wilson

Senior Lecturer
Phillip.Wilson@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 702 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6664

Research Interests

Mathematical modelling in biology and industry. Multiscale information transfer and emergent phenomena. Philosophy and communication of mathematics.

Fellows

David Baird

Adjunct Senior Fellow
david@vsn.co.nz

Dr Qui Bui

Dr Qui Bui

Adjunct Senior Fellow
Huy-Qui.Bui@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 713 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7662

Research Interests

Fourier analysis. Wavelet analysis. Weighted functions spaces. Littlewood-Paley theory.

Adjunct Associate Professor Ian Coope

Adjunct Associate Professor Ian Coope

Ian.Coope@canterbury.ac.nz

Research Interests

Numerical optimization. Linear algebra and applications. Computational science.

Roger Jarquin

Adjunct Senior Fellow

Adjunct Professor Michael McAleer

Associate Professor Ben Martin

Adjunct Associate Professor Ben Martin

Ben.Martin@canterbury.ac.nz

Research Interests

Varieties of representations of finitely generated groups, and applications; reductive algebraic groups; subgroup growth and representation growth of finitely generated groups; automorphism groups of trees; geometric invariant theory.

Dr John Newell

Dr John Newell

Adjunct Fellow
john.newell@nuigalway.ie
Senior Research Fellow

Dr Alasdair Noble

Adjunct Senior Fellow
alasdair.noble@canterbury.ac.nz

Richard Penny

Richard Penny

Adjunct Fellow
Richard.Penny@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 504 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 6676,  or +64 3 964 8769

Research Interests

Design, implementation and analysis of complex surveys, confidentiality and privacy, seasonal adjustment.

Dr Peter Renaud

Dr Peter Renaud

Adjunct Senior Fellow
Peter.Renaud@canterbury.ac.nz

Research Interests

Functional analysis. Ergodic theory. Number theory. Cryptography. Clifford algebras. Quantum Mechanics.

Dr Blair Robertson

Dr Blair Roberston

Adjunct Fellow

Dr Luminiţa Simona Vîţă

Dr Luminiţa Simona Vîţă

Adjunct Fellow
simona.vita@customs.govt.nz
NZ Customs

Research Interests

Constructive foundations of analysis and topology. Recursive functions theory, computability and complexity.

Adjunct Associate Professor Neil Watson

Adjunct Associate Professor Neil Watson

Neil.Watson@canterbury.ac.nz

Research Interests

Partial differential equations and potential theory.

Ian Westbrooke

Ian Westbrooke

Adjunct Fellow
iwestbrooke@doc.govt.nz

Research Interests

Environmental statistics, statistics for conservation; applied data visualisation (graphing);

Emeritus Professors

Emeritus Professor John Deely

Emeritus Professor John Deely

Emeritus Professor Roy Kerr; Photographer: Max Alexander

Emeritus Professor Roy Kerr

Roy.Kerr@canterbury.ac.nz
Phone: +64 3 364 2600
Photographer: Max Alexander

Emeritus Professor Brian Woods

Emeritus Professor Brian Woods

Phone: +64 3 364 2600

Associates

Dr Bill Baritompa

Dr Bill Baritompa

B.Baritompa@math.canterbury.ac.nz

Research Interests

Global optimisation, theoretical limitations and design of practical algorithms. Scientific and statistical computing. Mathematics education.

Bob Broughton

Bob Broughton

Bob.Broughton@canterbury.ac.nz

Research Interests

Computing in Education, Computational Mathematics.

Dr Easaw Chacko

Dr Easaw Chacko

Easaw.Chacko@canterbury.ac.nz

Research Interests

Probability theory, Stochastic processes, time-series analysis.

Dr A. W. McInnes

Dr A.W. McInnes

A.McInnes@math.canterbury.ac.nz

Research Interests

Computational mathematics. Approximation theory. Approximation by Algebraic functions.

Mr Bill Taylor

Bill Taylor

William.Taylor@canterbury.ac.nz

Research Interests

Probability, with emphasis on discrete probability processes and the connection between probability and logic.

Computer Support Staff

Paul Brouwers

Paul Brouwers

Programmer/Analyst
Paul.Brouwers@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 413 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 93155

Mr. Steve Gourdie

Steve Gourdie

ITCS Manager
Stephen.Gourdie@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 411 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 7425

Mr. Allen Witt

Mr Allen Witt

Senior Programmer/Analyst
Allen.Witt@canterbury.ac.nz
Room 412 Erskine Building
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext 8498